LEGALFREETOAIR.COM
Aug 07 2022 11:58:16 *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Site Rules - All Members Please Read!  >>> https://legalfreetoair.com/index.php?topic=6.0
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting Started with FTA - What u need/how 2 start - a brief overview  (Read 48428 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
mrbill
Honored Member
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619



« Reply #45 on: Jun 25 2013 09:11:31 »

Well, been reading. Tried to get some channels and no luck. I did have one comein on 119 when I fired up the Coolsat. It was a information for dish or direct (don't remember) and cant get any more. So I'm trying blind scan. Hmmmmmm Guess it's time to hang it up. Getting tooo difficult for mrbill. I remember a sat with a bunch of christian channels. But don't remember which one. Ya, I tried sathint, wow, big learning curve there. Too much for me. Bummer. Was pretty excited to get that one channel in tho.

OhnO
mrbill peace peace peace

Logged

OhnO
mrbill
Slayers
Honored Member
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 55561



« Reply #46 on: Jun 25 2013 09:24:12 »

Welcome back mrbill.

you can get-em using a linear lnb. good luck.

G-19 @ 97W Ku band has a bunch of christian channels.

sathint link below.

http://www.sathint.com/galaxy-19

Slayers
Logged

Testing (1)TBS.6922.PCIe Express Satellite TV Card On
Ubuntu-64-Bit-Linux...
Windows-8.1-64-Bit-Build-9600...
Windows-10-64-Bit-Build-10240....
mrbill
Honored Member
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619



« Reply #47 on: Jun 25 2013 09:54:22 »

Cool, thanks. I'll give it a try tomorrow. DaD in law is dying tonight. We just got a call from medical care place. Altimmers took him. He is saved. So he'll be all better soon. Even better than new. Cheesy
I tried Sat Hint, but way too difficult for me. And my wife already said if the dish gets out of aim that that is the end for me. Too much stress. Bummer. Oh well.

OhnO
mrbill peace
Logged

OhnO
mrbill
Jimbob
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 660



« Reply #48 on: Jun 26 2013 05:39:53 »

Mr. Bill..........you and your family have gone through a lot............our prayers and thought's are with you and the family.
Logged

36" Fortec  dish, DG240, QPH-031, Solomend PVR800, OpenboxS9, Pansat 9500HDX. DN Turbo dish DSS LNB, SpitFire LNBF
jess73
Know's FTA
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1342



« Reply #49 on: Jun 26 2013 11:52:06 »

Mr bill;  It is a time of sadness, even though your "Dad in law" is passing from death into life.  Hold your wife and comfort her in this time of need.    Jess
Logged

9ft. c/ku Mesh button hook hor to hor. 4dtv922 slaved pansat2500,9500, az prem hd, and a cw3000 at the end of the loop. other boxes in the closet. got the 9500 from Hypermegasat! Can look from 55.5 to 139 west.
mrbill
Honored Member
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619



« Reply #50 on: Jun 26 2013 10:36:28 »

Thanks guys. It's a little comfort knowing he's going to heaven, but till makes us here on earth. You see, were selfish. We don't want people we love to die. Man this dying thing is bad. But everybody is going to do it. Well DaD didn't pass today. Now there saying maybe in a day or two.All in Gods time I guess.

Haven't messed with dish stuff today. Been really busy. MoM fell today and she lives 35 miles away. I'm her lifeline. She be OK. She just wishes DaD will pass soon. The wait is hard.

OhnO
mrbill peace
Logged

OhnO
mrbill
drush99
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #51 on: Apr 16 2014 08:08:32 »

I have a Directv Slimline dish can it be used for FTA? Also what is the best receiver for FTA ? What satellite has the most video channels on it for FTA? Lot of ?'s I know maybe someone can help.I'm a newbie at this FTA STUFF.
Thanks
Danny
Logged
Hyper
ADMIN
Administrator
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 17592


https://HyperMegaSat.com


WWW
« Reply #52 on: Apr 16 2014 08:19:21 »

Hello and welcome to our forum drush99!

You can definitely use the Directv Slimline for FTA.

There is a bunch of threads here on how to do it with pics and everything.

Do a search for "slimline" on the forum and you will get a bunch of threads.

One of them is here:

http://legalfreetoair.com/index.php?topic=23322.0


You will need to replace the LNB with one appropriate for FTA, and you will also need a Universal LNB Bracket to hold the LNB.

Check our forum sponsor HyperMegaSat.com for these items.

As far as the sat with the most channels Galaxy 19 97.0W for sure.

The best receiver is a matter of opinion i suppose, but I would look at the Linkbox 8000 HD models, and the Manhattan RS-1933HD.

Hope this helps.


 grin
Logged

My son Evan, taken from his family and friends on March 26, 2010 at the age of 15. We love you and miss you Evan. We will see you again soon in heaven. I miss you son. You were the best son a dad could have. I am so proud of you. Save a place for me.
drush99
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #53 on: Apr 16 2014 09:26:21 »

Thanks for the reply.....I'll check them out.

Danny
Logged
drush99
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #54 on: Apr 16 2014 09:47:19 »

I have one more ? I have a c-band dish with a 4dtv 922 receiver that is working. Will the FTA receivers you mention work with c-band and the slimline dish at the same time? Do they have inputs for ku and c-band? Thanks again.
Danny
Logged
jess73
Know's FTA
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1342



« Reply #55 on: Apr 16 2014 09:56:12 »

drush99;  I don't know the size of  the "slinline", but most of those dish and direct dishes are just plain too small.  I set up a friend with a small dish[somewhere around 23"] and about all we could get was some ch's on g-3c ku.  These small dishes are everywhere!  You need at least a1M[39"] to recieve a reliable sig.  A 1.2m[almost 47"] will do a good job for you. Hyper is correct in that the best sat for you is G-19.  I have a Pansat 9500 and a Manhattan.  The Linkbox local might be a better choice in that it will recieve the OTA ch's. You do need an OTA antenna hooked to it.  Good luck on your set-up.  Keep us informed on how things are going.  Jess out in California
Logged

9ft. c/ku Mesh button hook hor to hor. 4dtv922 slaved pansat2500,9500, az prem hd, and a cw3000 at the end of the loop. other boxes in the closet. got the 9500 from Hypermegasat! Can look from 55.5 to 139 west.
jess73
Know's FTA
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1342



« Reply #56 on: Apr 16 2014 10:12:08 »

Hey!  Just red latest post, You can hook up either of the recievers to your existing dish and use the 922 as a mover and skew changer.  You need a splitter conected between the c band cable from the 922.  I use a "one way" splitter 5MHZ-2.3GHz. The power is supplied only to one side[between the 922 and the LNB on the feedhorn.  conect the other side to the DVB reciever.  Use the 922 to move the dish, and change skew.  There is a lot more on C band than there is on KU.  You can use a diesq to conect the C band dish and the Ku dish.  You need to set that in the reciever.  One port for C and the other port for KU  You can conect the diesq between the DVB reciever and the cable from the splitter.  Hope this helps  Jess out in California
Logged

9ft. c/ku Mesh button hook hor to hor. 4dtv922 slaved pansat2500,9500, az prem hd, and a cw3000 at the end of the loop. other boxes in the closet. got the 9500 from Hypermegasat! Can look from 55.5 to 139 west.
drush99
New Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #57 on: Apr 16 2014 10:43:52 »

Thanks Jess for the info......Some FTA receivers looks like they have a loop thru for the lnb hook up to the 922 rec.and would not need a splitter. Is this correct?
Logged
jess73
Know's FTA
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1342



« Reply #58 on: Apr 17 2014 03:04:08 »

No!  You need a splitter.  The "loop through" is for conecting another DVB reciever.  The splitter's that I use are "Ideal".  should be able to pick one up at local electronics store. Jess out in California
Logged

9ft. c/ku Mesh button hook hor to hor. 4dtv922 slaved pansat2500,9500, az prem hd, and a cw3000 at the end of the loop. other boxes in the closet. got the 9500 from Hypermegasat! Can look from 55.5 to 139 west.
jess73
Know's FTA
LFTA Legend
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1342



« Reply #59 on: Apr 17 2014 03:18:15 »

Perhaps to be a little clearer about my hook-up:  I have different Imputs on my TV. [video , component , hdmI, ect]   I have my 922 on my TV input tunned to ch 4 to show the 922 screen.  My other boxes are on ;HdmI-1 , HdmI-2 , and Component 1.  My cable is conected to the component 2.  Hope my explanation helped   Jess out in California
Logged

9ft. c/ku Mesh button hook hor to hor. 4dtv922 slaved pansat2500,9500, az prem hd, and a cw3000 at the end of the loop. other boxes in the closet. got the 9500 from Hypermegasat! Can look from 55.5 to 139 west.
LEGALFREETOAIR.COM
   

 Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!